Contents page

30 Mar

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Stage 1

For making my contents page I used a program called Indesign. The first thing I did was put the title contents page at the top of my page along with my mast head GMM. Having it at the top of the page allows the reader to know straight away what they are looking at also it allows me to have more room on the page for other things. I have based my contents page on my sketch and my Q magazine contents page analysis. I then created a line down the left hand side. Secondly I created my section titles for my page like ‘features’ every month’… ect. I filled in the text box background red to follow on from my colour palette that is continuous in my pages also red is the first colour the eye registers. So the reader will see these first and can navigate the page. I also added in my first photo by going on file, then ‘place’. I also gave the picture a black border of 3pt thick so it stands out.

Stage 2

At this point I started to add some text.  Firstly I created saying ‘British Issue’ box. I decided to have a separate box for the entire articles’ based on the British   theme so it isn’t mixed in with other articles and makes it easy for the reader find the articles they want also it demonstrates that these articles are the most important in the issue. I added a drop shadow using effects to make the text stand out more.

I then created my editors note box. I decided to have a black background initially to go with the black background I added to my contents title. I also added a caption to my photo so that if the reader wants to know the article the artist is in all they have to do is look at the picture and the page number is there.

Stage 3

As you can see in stage 3 I made a lot of changes to my page. Firstly I added more photos from my photo shoots to my page. I choose to have the same model as on my front cover to add continuity.  I also changed the background colour of my page because I found that white was a bit to glary when I printed it off  so I choose a grey which in my opinion is a lot more nice and soft to the eye. I added more text to my page. I choose a modern thin text for text outside the boxes. The page numbers are red so they link with the section titles and stand out.   And I changed my editors note book to have the same background as the page. The text in the box is a small size 12 font which looks professional so you can tell that this section is written by the editor. As you can see I firstly I positioned my photos to the right hand side of my page however I choose against this later on.

Stage 4

I moved my photos into the centre of my page. I did this because in my opinion and in the opinion of my peers it looks  more like a contents page and also I can fit more text in the page. I decided to put my 2 profile pictures wit the borders around at the top and bottom with my horizontal 2 shot in the middle. The line I put on the left hand side in stage 1 has been used as a divider of numbers and text. On the right hand side of my page is my British Issue articles. I decided to take them out of the box because it makes the page look smoother and clean with out lots of boxes. I however made it stand out with a different bolder font and underneath the article titles is a brief description of what is going on in blue which once gain follows on from my colour palette. For my editors note I added a picture of myself because many magazine editors do this not just music magazines. In addition I added a ‘Reviews’



Leave a comment